Top 14 Survival Tips for High School

12803973_942969662501327_1985230396_n

For the energetic Year 7’s to the anxiety-filled Year 12 student (aka me), these tips apply to all. Take note students.   

By Sean McParland, Student Voice Leader

Having attended High School for nearly five years now, I have certainly discovered a few of the ins and outs of CMC life. My journey thus far has consisted of countless failures in any area you could think of, and yes, that includes almost burning down my Year 8 science classroom. (I never did get my Bunsen Burner Licence). However,  I have had some of the best moments of my life at CMC,  be it getting sent to RTC for the first time, (this wasn’t even my fault – like c’mon, soccer in the hallway sounded like a great idea!) to things as simple as spending that final lunch time with my Year 12 buddies before they graduated (when I was Year 11). There are so many memories I’ll certainly hold close for a long time.

So, from my experiences, here are my 14 survival tips for High School:

  1. Try not to burn down the science lab. Do I really need to explain this one?
  1. Wear your uniform correctly.  Yes, I know what you’re thinking and I’m sick of hearing it too, but if you wear your uniform properly, you probably won’t hear this as much. Plus it looks a heck of lot better when your uniform is neat and presentable.
  1. Avoid the RTC.  This one is pretty straight forward.  Maximised class time, means getting more work done in class, which means less homework.
  1. Get familiar with the school. This one is for the Year 7’s and any new students. By familiar, I mean know where your classes are.  The sooner you know – the better.
  1. Do your homework and study  A pretty obvious one. Doing homework and studying can do magic for your grades, especially coming into 11 and 12. So, knuckle down and work hard.  It’s going to be tough but the results will pay off.
  1. Get involved!  Clairvaux offers so many clubs, teams, and extracurricular programs outside academics.  Getting involved in any one of these will make your high school experience so much better. You’ll make friends with heaps of new people and it takes the stress away from school work. This advice is especially for students in Year 9 and 10. Those middle years of high school were some of the best times. It was in these years where I started getting involved a lot and I established many bonds with people who I’m still very close with today. So get involved! Maybe you’ll find your best friend.
  1. Manage your time.  Senior students take note of this.  You’ve heard it from all the teachers before, time management is key to your success in high school. This means creating a study plan and not watching that extra hour of Netflix by yourself.
  1. Stay positive, and don’t be afraid of failure.  Just because you didn’t get the grade you were hoping for, doesn’t mean it’s the end. Stay positive my friend, and look at it as a learning curve towards improving next time. Never give up and keeping pushing.  You’ve so got this!
  1. Sleeeeeep!  Manage your time and create a study plan. Pulling an all-nighter to study for an exam or to finish an assignment is not, and I repeat, IS NOT a good idea.  The growing body of a teenager apparently needs 8 1/2 to 9 hours sleep a night.  (No wonder I’m tired).
  1. Don’t fall asleep in class.  Refer to point 9.
  1. You don’t need to know what you want to be when you grow up.  You’ll get asked this question a lot and it’s okay if you don’t quite know yet. Focus on the present and worry about the future later. You’ll have plenty of time to figure it out. If you’re not sure, find your passion and stick to that.
  1. DON’T PROCRASTINATE! It seems fun at first but it will come back to bite you. If you stay on task and get your work done early, you’ll have more time to do things you love, like watching that extra hour of Netflix by yourself.
  1. Set aside some ‘me’ time.  Take some time out of your busy (or not so busy) schedule to chill out. This means going out with your friends somewhere, relaxing at home etc. Anything that takes your mind of school work.  Go out and do something you love. Even if you have a thousand things to do, it’s good to take a step back, breathe, and refocus your mind. A healthy mind is a happy one.
  1. Make every moment count.   High school doesn’t last for ever.  I’m learning this slowly now that I’m in Year 12.  So live every moment to the fullest and make them count. Cherish the good and bad times, so that when you look back on your time at school, you can say “those were some of the best times of my life”.

And there you have it.  Fourteen tips from me to you.  I hope they will make your high school experience much better.

Daily inspirational quote: “Happiness is when what you think, what you say, and what you do are in harmony.” -Mahatma Gandhi

                                                                             

Leave a Reply

